2014 COFCA Awards Nominees

Birdman (2014)

Central Ohio Film Critics AssociationIt’s that time of year again! The Central Ohio Film Critics Association is pleased to announce the nominees for its 12th annual awards. Winners will be announced on the evening of January 8th, 2015. Be sure to visit cofca.org for the latest member reviews and awards announcements. Without further adieu, here are the 2014 COFCA awards nominees.

Best Film
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Gone Girl
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game
A Most Violent Year

Best Director
-Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel
-Damien Chazelle, Whiplash
-Ava DuVernay, Selma
-Alejandro González Iñárritu, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
-Richard Linklater, Boyhood

Best Actor
-Ralph Fiennes, The Grand Budapest Hotel
-Jake Gyllenhaal, Nightcrawler
-Michael Keaton, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
-David Oyelowo, Selma
-Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

Best Actress
-Essie Davis, The Babadook
-Scarlett Johansson, Under the Skin
-Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
-Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
-Reese Witherspoon, Wild

Best Supporting Actor
-Josh Brolin, Inherent Vice
-Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
-Edward Norton, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
-Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
-J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Best Supporting Actress
-Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
-Jessica Chastain, A Most Violent Year
-Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game
-Emma Stone, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
-Tilda Swinton, Snowpiercer

Best Ensemble
Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
Gone Girl
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Guardians of the Galaxy

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)
-Jessica Chastain (The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby, Interstellar, Miss Julie, and A Most Violent Year)
-Benedict Cumberbatch (The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies and The Imitation Game)
-Jake Gyllenhaal (Enemy and Nightcrawler)
-Chris Pratt (Guardians of the Galaxy and The LEGO Movie)
-Tilda Swinton (The Grand Budapest Hotel, Only Lovers Left Alive, Snowpiercer, and The Zero Theorem)

Breakthrough Film Artist
-Damien Chazelle, Whiplash – (for directing and screenwriting)
-Ava DuVernay, Selma – (for directing)
-Jennifer Kent, The Babadook – (for directing and screenwriting)
-Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Belle and Beyond the Lights – (for acting)
-Justin Simien, Dear White People – (for directing and screenwriting)

Best Cinematography
-Benoît Delhomme, The Theory of Everything
-Hoyte Van Hoytema, Interstellar
-Daniel Landin, Under the Skin
-Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
-Robert Yeoman, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Film Editing
-Sandra Adair, Boyhood
-Spencer Averick, Selma
-Kirk Baxter, Gone Girl
-Douglas Crise and Stephen Mirrione, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
-Tom Cross, Whiplash

Best Adapted Screenplay
-Paul Thomas Anderson, Inherent Vice
-Bong Joon-ho and Kelly Masterson, Snowpiercer
-Gillian Flynn, Gone Girl
-Nick Hornby, Wild
-Graham Moore, The Imitation Game

Best Original Screenplay
-Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel
-J.C. Chandor, A Most Violent Year
-Damien Chazelle, Whiplash
-Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, and Armando Bo, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
-Paul Webb, Selma

Best Score
-Alexandre Desplat, The Grand Budapest Hotel
-Jóhann Jóhannsson, The Theory of Everything
-Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, Gone Girl
-Antonio Sanchez, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
-Hans Zimmer, Interstellar

Best Documentary
Dinosaur 13
Finding Vivian Maier
Jodorowsky’s Dune
Life Itself

Best Foreign Language Film
Force Majeure (Turist)
A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night
Two Days, One Night (Deux jours, une nuit)
We Are the Best! (Vi är bäst!)

Best Animated Film
Big Hero 6
The Book of Life
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
The LEGO Movie

Best Overlooked Film
The Babadook
Blue Ruin
Edge of Tomorrow

Previous Best Film winners:
2002: Punch-Drunk Love
2003: Lost in Translation
2004: Million Dollar Baby
2005: A History of Violence
2006: Children of Men
2007: No Country for Old Men
2008: WALL·E
2009: Up in the Air
2010: Inception
2011: Drive
2012: Moonrise Kingdom
2013: Gravity

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *