2013 COFCA Awards Nominations

Central Ohio Film Critics Association(Columbus, December 29, 2013) The Central Ohio Film Critics Association is pleased to announce the nominees for its 12th annual awards. Winners will be announced on the evening of January 2nd, 2014.

Note on the nominees: ties in the nomination round produced six nominees in the Best Director, Best Cinematography, and Best Documentary categories.

Founded in 2002, the Central Ohio Film Critics Association is comprised of film critics based in Columbus, Ohio and the surrounding areas. Its membership consists of 20 print, radio, television, and internet critics. COFCA’s official website at www.cofca.org contains links to member reviews and past award winners.

The 2013 Central Ohio Film Critics Association awards nominees are:

Best Film
-12 Years a Slave
-American Hustle
-Before Midnight
-Frances Ha
-Inside Llewyn Davis
-Upstream Color
-The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Director
-Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity
-Spike Jonze, Her
-Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
-Alexander Payne, Nebraska
-David O. Russell, American Hustle
-Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Actor
-Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
-Tom Hanks, Captain Phillips
-Michael B. Jordan, Fruitvale Station
-Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
-Joaquin Phoenix, Her

Best Actress
-Amy Adams, American Hustle
-Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
-Adèle Exarchopoulos, Blue is the Warmest Color (La vie d’Adèle)
-Greta Gerwig, Frances Ha
-Brie Larson, Short Term 12

Best Supporting Actor
-Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
-Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave
-James Franco, Spring Breakers
-Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street
-Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Actress
-Scarlett Johansson, Her
-Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
-Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
-Julia Roberts, August: Osage County
-June Squibb, Nebraska

Best Ensemble
-12 Years a Slave
-American Hustle
-Short Term 12
-The Wolf of Wall Street

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)
-Amy Adams (American Hustle, Her, and Man of Steel)
-Benedict Cumberbatch (12 Years a Slave, August: Osage County, The Fifth Estate, The Hobbit:
The Desolation of Smaug, and Star Trek Into Darkness)
-Leonardo DiCaprio (The Great Gatsby and The Wolf of Wall Street)
-Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle and The Hunger Games: Catching Fire)
-Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club, Mud, and The Wolf of Wall Street)

Breakthrough Film Artist
-Lake Bell, In a World… – (for acting, directing, and screenwriting)
-Ryan Coogler, Fruitvale Station – (for directing and screenwriting)
-Destin Daniel Cretton, Short Term 12 – (for directing and screenwriting)
-Adèle Exarchopoulos, Blue is the Warmest Color (La vie d’Adèle) – (for acting)
-Brie Larson, Don Jon, Short Term 12, and The Spectacular Now – (for acting)

Best Cinematography
-Sean Bobbitt, 12 Years a Slave
-Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity
-Hoyte Van Hoytema, Her
-Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis
-Benoît Debie, Spring Breakers
-Shane Carruth, Upstream Color

Best Adapted Screenplay
-Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke, and Richard Linklater, Before Midnight
-Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber, The Spectacular Now
-Billy Ray, Captain Phillips
-John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave
-Terence Winter, The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Original Screenplay
-Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, Inside Llewyn Davis
-Destin Daniel Cretton, Short Term 12
-Spike Jonze, Her
-Bob Nelson, Nebraska
-David O. Russell and Eric Singer, American Hustle

Best Score
-Arcade Fire, Her
-Thomas Newman, Saving Mr. Banks
-Mark Orton, Nebraska
-Steven Price, Gravity
-Hans Zimmer, 12 Years a Slave

Best Documentary
-20 Feet from Stardom
-The Act of Killing
-Room 237
-Stories We Tell

Best Foreign Language Film
-Beyond the Hills (Dupa dealuri)
-Blue is the Warmest Color (La vie d’Adèle)
-The Grandmaster (Yi dai zong shi)
-The Hunt (Jagten)
-The Wind Rises (Kaze tachinu)

Best Animated Film
-The Croods
-Despicable Me 2
-Monsters University
-The Wind Rises (Kaze tachinu)

Best Overlooked Film
-Short Term 12
-The Spectacular Now

COFCA offers its congratulations to the nominees.

Previous Best Film winners:

2002: Punch-Drunk Love
2003: Lost in Translation
2004: Million Dollar Baby
2005: A History of Violence
2006: Children of Men
2007: No Country for Old Men
2008: WALL·E
2009: Up in the Air
2010: Inception
2011: Drive
2012: Moonrise Kingdom

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *